The G-SHOCK GX56 “King” in Stainless Steel is the Ultimate Piece of Wrist Chonk

When I was a young boy I visited Japan with my parents. As with many who visit Japan, I found the country and the people to be mystifying and intriguing. There is an unmistakable allure to the experience of being somewhere that seems to be several years ahead technology-wise, yet maintains centuries or millennia-old cultural traditions. As a young boy, institutional names like Honda, Nissan, and Toshiba still meant nothing to me. However, one product caught my young imagination – G-SHOCK.

I can clearly remember standing on a busy shopping arcade staring into a display case full of G-SHOCK watches. The covered shopping arcade was a bustle of activity, yet so spacious with such tall ceilings that I felt like I was in my own private little dimension standing in front of the shop. It was hot and humid. The shop itself was not some fine jeweller or even a department store, just a humble clock shop. If I wring my memory tighter for specifics, I can recall a weathered green awning and the interior of the shop behind the display case being dark and very still.  At the front of the store was this display case containing many G-SHOCK watches, each unique and bold in design. They were large, chunky, rugged things, with crystal clear digital displays, ready for action. The block lettering, the minute color variation between the various parts, the metal sheen of the clasps – so much technology crammed so densely into such a relatively small thing. Yet, for a watch, it was large and confident, light years ahead of the Timex Indiglo watches that were all the rage back home. They were like little space ships sitting docked at a station, awaiting their pilots.

The shop looked much like this one, located in Kobe.
I think I even see some G-Shocks there.

I did not get to buy a G-SHOCK that day, but as an adult I would go on to visit Japan many more times and eventually begin low-key collecting them. My collection is small but it contains only my favourite pieces – and it is growing.

My first impression as a boy of G-SHOCK being a huge, rugged wrist watch lives on today. As such, I tend to prefer the largest and most rugged designs. When it came time to buy a square body piece I opted for the GX56 as opposed to the DW5600, simply because the GX56 is one of Casio’s largest. With a case diameter of approximately 56mm, it is dubbed  “The King” by enthusiasts. When online seekers ask “What’s the biggest G-SHOCK there is?” the GX-56 often comes up. It may not technically be the biggest anymore since new models have come out since the GX-56 first emerged, but at one time it definitely was the biggest watch G-SHOCK sells and it continues to be one of the top in terms of case diameter.

The black resin shock-proof bezels and dual clasp bands of most G-SHOCKs are part of the rugged and iconic styling, however, metal also has a certain rugged allure. Casio does produce some metal G-SHOCKs, but they are analog, like the MTG series, or they are smaller, like the all-metal DW5600. For a huge, metal, digital watch, you must seek out a third option.

I became aware of aftermarket stainless bezel and strap sets for the GX56 while I was looking at aftermarket straps for my GW7900. The idea that I could further chunkify my GX56 by cladding it in metal was almost too good to be true. It would not be a true G-SHOCK through and through, but that didn’t matter. Modding and customization are part of the fun of having a hobby. Truth be told, the GX56 is not an incredibly expensive watch to begin with, and since by GW7900B was currently serving as my blacked out exercise watch (and the other GW7900 with aftermarket NATO strap serving as my daily wear), I could afford to lose the black motif and go for something a little more impactful with the GX56.

The installation is extremely easy, and the results are amazing. It truly looks like the G-SHOCK that Cyberdine Systems built. It took a solid 3 months to arrive from Singapore where the eBay vendor is situated, but it was well worth the wait. Below are some photos I took while switching over to the stainless kit. I will include a link to the vendor below if any readers are interested in acquiring this rare delight. The bezel is also available in gold, black stainless, and a multi-colour stainless finish that looks like bismuth crystal.

The GX56 weighs in at a hefty 85 grams on its own.

The stainless steel aftermarket set for the GX56. Came beautifully packaged with all the necessary tools. I believe it may actually be made of Mandalorian beskar but I’m not sure.

Remove the 4 band screws and 2 bezel screws using the teeny tiny Philips screwdriver provided with the kit.

Old bezel off, new bezel on. A perfect fit. Note, the 2 side bezel screws don’t go back on. The bezel is held in place by the 4 band pins. This was slightly disappointing but I’m sure there’s a good reason.

The new strap pins are slot type, and a slot type screw driver is provided. They are a little tight going in but this is obviously preferable to loose screws. With some gentle encouragement all 4 went in and arrived at the same depth.

Even though I pride myself on having decent sized wrists (why else would someone want something this big on their wrist) I had to remove a link. This was tricky but completely doable with the proper tools. Without watch repair tools however you may be sunk. The tools provided should be enough, but I had an easier time using two watch band pin tools. First, remove the old link. You have to kind of stick a pin tool in both ends to compress the spring. Then, let the weight of the watch pull itself down and away from the released link that you’re holding up with two tools in either end, wiggling slightly, and voila, you have released the first link.

Repeat the process to remove the link completely from the watch band.

Re-attaching the band. You are able to get one pin-end inside the connecting link far enough at an angle as pictured. At this angle one end of the pin is compressed and sitting inside the link, so you can use a forked pin tool to depress the other end of the pin and slide it in. Once both ends of the pin are compressed and this link is fully inserted into the other link, they’ll either pop into place with a tiny click, or (being careful not to pull it apart and send the pin flying), if you gently tug and push back and forth the depressed pins find their way into the holes of the link and will pop into place that way as well.

The finished product is formidable. I wouldn’t feel comfortable treating it as carelessly as I know I can treat the resin bezel. I’d hate to bang it off a car door, or get my hand caught somewhere and have to yank it out, because metal will inevitably develop nicks and scratches. This is a piece you wear when you are out and about, enjoying the town or driving your car or whatever. Maybe when the pandemic is over I’ll wear it to dinner or something. It is very heavy and you will not forget that its on your wrist. It sits there staring back at you like the Terminator, Cyberdine Systems model GX-56. I almost expect it to fly off my wrist and start shooting lasers. Did I mention its HEAVY??

So there you have it.

Here is a link to the vendor I got it from. I am not affiliated in any way or specificaly promoting him or anything, but to rate the consumer experience, I have to say, excellent customer service. I had many questions before buying the kit and he was very responsive and even updated his sale page to make the options and pricing easier to understand. It arrived well packaged and before the projected delivery date. Very happy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.